5.1 C
New York
Friday, February 23, 2024

Shilpi Neha Tirkey of Congress Wins Mandar Assembly Constituency By 23,690 Votes

Mandar Bypoll Result Updates: Counting of votes for the by-election to the Mandar assembly seat in Jharkhand’s Ranchi district took place today amid tight security. Over 61.25 per cent of about 3.5 lakh voters exercised their franchise in the election, held on June 23. The bypoll was necessitated after the disqualification of Bandhu Tirkey as an MLA in the wake of his conviction in a corruption case. A special CBI court in Jharkhand had on March 28 sentenced Tirkey to three years imprisonment.Also Read – Rajinder Nagar By-election Result: AAP's Durgesh Pathak Wins, Says, 'This is CM Kejriwal's Victory'

The constituency is witnessing a triangular contest this time. The Congress has fielded the former MLA’s daughter, Shilpi Neha Tirkey, as the candidate of the ruling JMM-led coalition, while the BJP has nominated former legislator Gangotri Kujur in the seat. Independent candidate Dev Kumar Dhan, backed by Asaduddin Owaisi’s AIMIM, is also in the fray. Stay tuned for Live updates on Mandar Bypoll result 2022:

The final result for Mandar Bypoll has been declared. Shilpi Neha Tirkey of Congress is the winner by a margin of 23,690 votes. Here are the updates:  

5 pm: Shilpi Neha Tirkey of Congress leads by a margin of over 22,000 votes

3 pm: Shilpi Neha Tirkey of Congress leading by a margin of 13,357 votes, Gangotri Kujur of BJP trailing

11 am: Gangotri Kujur of BJP leading with over 8000 votes, Shilpi Neha Tirkey of Congress trailing not far behind

9.30 am: Counting underway

8.01 am: Counting of votes begins

Related Articles

Stay Connected


Latest Articles